Easy Vegan Recipes: Pinto Chili

[dropcap]I[/dropcap] love making this Pinto Chili recipe every now and then, and it is very simple to make, all you really need is 2 ingredients:

  • 1 Can Pinto Beans
  • 1 Can Diced Tomatoes (Stewed tomatoes will work as well, I use both.)

Now what you want to do is open up the can of Pinto Beans and drain them, you should probably also wash them off in a Colander or strainer, this washes off the brine from the can and also lowers the amount of salt comes from the canned variety of the beans. You don’t have to do this if you cook your beans dried, which I don’t do because I am lazy.

chiliPlace the beans in a medium saucepan. Meanwhile, open up the can of stewed or diced tomatoes, which you can get already seasoned like I do if they are on sale. Just dump the whole can of tomatoes in the pan with the beans, and turn stone on high.

Now here is the fun part, while you don’t NEED anymore ingrediants, you can add in whatever you like. I save the jalapenos whenever my BF or roomate orders from Papa Johns, and I like to add those into my chili and lentil soup recipes. I also like to add a few Scallion stalks, as well as Chili Powder, Mrs Dash, and a few other seasonings, but these are optional.

After the chili starts to boil, lower the temperature to medium and continue to stir. What you are going to want to do is crush some of the beans while cooking, so that the beans act as a thickener, but don’t turn all the beans into mush.

After this is done, stirring frequently, what you need to do is just wait for the water to boil down, and that thickens the rest of it on it’s own. The the chili is to the desired thickness, take it off the heat. Either serve it immediately, or save it for later.

Now you can eat this all yourself, but I usually use this for 2 servings. The whole recipe only makes about 3 cups of chili. One serving, my servings, contains 232 Calories, 10 grams of fiber, 12 grams of protein, and is high in Vitamin A and C, Calcium, Copper, Manganese, Potassium, and has a full days worth of Selenium.

This is a pretty simple and healthy chili recipe, so try it out when you get the chance!

Leave a comment