Eating Vegetarian At: Five Guys

Five Guys is yet another place that you would not in any way expect to have very many vegetarian, or even vegan options, but you’d be shocked that it has both! Many burger joints, aside from a few that will not be named, but rhyme with Smikdonalds and Sally’s, are starting to include vegetarian options to their burger menu’s, which is awesome! Vegetable meat-replacement is on the rise, and that can’t be a bad thing.

In terms of vegetarian options, Five Guy’s, who don’t have a very big menu to begin with, has a number of vegetarian options, including:

  • Grilled Cheese Sandwich
  • Veggie Sandwich (has no patty, but does include mushrooms, can add cheese)
  • Cajun fries
  • Regular fries
  • Peanuts

The veggie sandwich is cheaper than its burger alternatives, and according to the site, has 16 grams of protein, and 440 Calories. Adding cheese makes it 20 grams of protein. All of their buns include eggs and dairy, but I personally don’t find it enough to make too much of a difference, but everything but their fries are usually good for the Lacto-ovo vegetarian.

Their fries and their peanuts, however, are Vegan. And they even mention that in their F.A.Q:

Do you offer any food which is suitable for vegetarians?

Yes, to a certain extent. Our veggie sandwich and grilled cheese sandwiches are suitable for lacto-ovo vegetarians. One thing to take note of is that our veggie sandwich is NOT a veggie burger. Our veggie sandwich consists of as many “veggie” toppings as you desire and served on our basic bun. You can add cheese if you please. Our bread is toasted, but usually on a separate grill from meat products. However, there is always a chance for cross contamination, so please check at the individual location where you are ordering to be certain. Finally, our fries are just plain potatoes cooked in 100% peanut oil and are suitable for even vegan diets.

Most places have vegan fries, such as BK and McDonalds, but you have to be careful, because Rally’s cooks all their products in beef tallow.

So if you are going out to eat anywhere do know that there are some vegetarian options at Five Guys as well.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s