Ex-Vegan, Not A Monster

healthy-eating-plate_0

A lot of people hate on Ex-vegans, and for good reason too. Vegans represent this idea of morality. As a vegan you are no longer needlessly killing animals for things like Palate Pleasure, and convenience. Vegans are often well-versed in the facts that animal products are neither necessary or natural, and that normality from tradition is not a decent argument to end the life of another animal.

Despite knowing all of this, ex-vegans still go back to eating animal products, the same animal products they are well aware was produce by the horrific conditions brought upon by most farming practices. Many ex-vegans, despite knowing this, gorge on animal products like they are the next new fad, like they are trying to make up for the lost time between cheeseburgers bought from McDonalds.

So most vegans obviously see this as resorting back to immoral ways, killing animals for no good reasons, often while giving bullshit excuses that even they know is crap. No amount of free-range organic natural labeling will convince most vegans that these labels are just that, labels. Used for marketing to convince a group of absent-minded sheep into spending up to 3 times the amount for pretty much the same product, I mean, look at “Organic” Gatoraid and “Organic” Rockstar energy drinks if you need any further proof that organic sugary crap is still sugary crap.

I left veganism for a very specific reason, and after years of going from vegan to meat eater to vegetarian and back again. I must have been vegan about 4 times over the past 2 years, for the grand total of about 6 months vegan, and I love veganism. I love the idea of veganism. I love the idea of vegetarianism, and I will refuse to say veganism, if done right, can’t be the healthiest dietary choice you can make.

I left veganism, again, because I have food allergies. I have a problem eating and digesting rice, corn, wheat, soy, peanuts, and sesame without severe discomfort and  occasional vomiting. I also cannot eat large quantities of food due to acid reflux, which makes it hard to get in proper nutrition of any kind, especially from eating over a cup or two of lentils or other beans, daily.

Veganism, if done right, is far healthier, environmentally friendly, and ethical a diet that you can make, so long as you are a mindful shopper. But I will not accept that one cannot, say, be environmentally conscious, and still have the occasional animal products.

I know by saying “Occasional animal products” many vegans will immediately jump to the conclusion of “Standard American Diet Animal Product Binger, because let’s not kid ourselves, many vegans do see these things in black and white.

My new diet consists of mostly plant-based foods. I still drink almond milk, I eat lots of whole foods, I avoid cheese and eggs, no red meat for me, in fact, the only thing I really changed about my diet is that:

  1. I no longer avoid small quantities of food, like trace amounts of dairy in a canned vegetable soup, for instance.
  2. I eat a small amount of chicken, about 6 oz, daily. This provides me with a whole day’s worth of protein in one small serving, and has minimal fats in it.

I follow Harvard’s Healthy Eating Plate, and their food pyramid. Most of my diet is to remain plant-based, and high in whole plant foods like root vegetables, leafy greens, fruit, some beans and legumes, etc. I think that eating primarily plant-based is the best way, but simply to help me with issues I have, I believe eating a small amount of whole-food poultry will help in the long run.

Now I have some issues with veganism and meat-eating as a sweeping generalization. Neither of these is a diet. Veganism can be incredibly unhealthy, especially if you are eating a ton of processed junk foods, of which many are made using Palm Oil, which Harvard has shown to be just as unhealthy as saturated fats found in red meats and full-fat dairy.

Veganism can be incredibly healthy, but also incredibly unhealthy, the same with diets that include meat. I have heard many vegans believe that a diet full of junky foods is healthier than a diet full of whole plants but contains a small amount of animal products. This is pure delusion.

Many believe that avoiding trace amounts of animal products in foods causes a significant impact. It doesn’t. Being vegan is about doing your best to avoid animal products wherever and whenever possible to reduce suffering, health effects, and environmental damage. But refusing to buy coffee creamer that has an almost insignificant amount of a milk derivative, or cereal that has a trace amount of lanolin-based D3, doesn’t actually impact the industry. Most of the work done in helping animals comes from the elimination of larger animal products, not miniscule amounts.

Environmentally speaking a diet like mine is not that bad either, despite what you might hear from many vegans, 6 oz of chicken a day will not destroy the world, especially if said chicken is replacing other parts of your diet, like grains, and some beans, which I cannot have, or cannot have a lot of, because of health issues.

Now this isn’t an attack on veganism either, but I don’t want it to also be an attack on me as a person, simply because I chose to put my health first, and my purity second.

If you can eat fully vegan, by all means do it! If you can eat most vegan staples, go for it! If you live in an area where eating fully vegan is accessible and healthy, break a leg! But there is nothing wrong with eating vegan to the best of your ability, and eating some animal products if it makes being healthy and happy feasible.

And yes, you can eat some animal products and still be healthy, just make sure it’s at a minimum, and it’s more healthy, lean proteins.

I now eat some chicken. I am not Hitler. My arteries are not going to curdle. And it’s not the end of the world.

Leave a Reply

