My Week As A Vegan!!!

I actually went Vegan on the 27th, but didn’t start really punching in the food data until the 29th, so this is data from the 29th of November to the 4th of December. So basically only 6 days of food reporting.

I jot down all of my foods in Cronometer, which is an awesome nutrition site that I use to input calories, and find out anino acids and other nutritional contents of… most… foods. You can learn more about it HERE.

So let’s see how my nutrition went on a balanced vegan diet.

Overall:

vegan diet 1

For my overall intake, I have been consuming less calories, at 1871. Most in carbs, 80 grams of protein, and slightly less in terms of fat. Overall it is a pretty balanced diet and it goes over rather well. I consume a lot of lentils, romaine lettuce, bananas, pasta, and… chocolate soymilk. Which is not healthy, but it’s fricken good!

Carbs:

vegan carbs

In terms of carbs I am doing rather well, Cronometer does not differentiate a lot between added sugars and sugars found in fruit, but my added sugar intake is much lower due to the fact that I use Splenda to sweeten my drinks and food. And a lot of the sugar is counteracted by the massive amount of fiber I am now consuming, a whopping 44 grams!

Fat:

vegan fat

Now in terms of fat, I am kind of lacking, although I am receiving quite a bit of my Omega-3’s. I am also consuming a LOT less Saturated fat since I stopped eating cheese and dairy. Also with my Trans-fats, which used to be at 1.5 grams on average before I went vegan. And saturated fats are down from 21 on average to 8.

Protein:

vegan protein

And now to everyone’s favorite part: Protein. I am doing fantastic on protein, meeting all of my nutritional markers for everything except for Mathionine, which isn’t that healthy for you anyways if overconsumed. This is mainly because Lentils, Beans, Veggie Burgers, Soymilk, and Oats, are not high in Methionine, and quite high in other amino acids like the all wonderful Lysine.

Vegan protein is actually very easy to do, just make sue you eat a fair amount of beans, nuts, seeds, legumes, and soy. Remember, these products replace meats in your diet as a source of protein, so don’t just over-carb.

Vitamins:

vegan vitamins

This is my Pre-supplement vitamin intake, which includes fortified foods such as Soymilk and Nutritional Yeast. I am doing great on my B12 and everything but my Vitamin B5 and my Vitamin D intake. I always found it funny, as a vegetarian, that everyone talks about B12 but nobody mentions B5 as an area of concern.

vegan supplement

And these are my vitamins intake AFTER supplementation with a single Multivitamin. So I am doing rather well on that front.

vegan minerals

And here is my mineral intake for the week. I do not supplement for minerals, all of my minerals come from plant-based foods, such as Soymilk, Pasta, Lentils, and the like.

I often have to plan out some of my meals to make sure I get enough Zinc and Calcium, but that is easily adjusted by eating some Oatmeal, Lentils, or Spinach. My main area of concern, is that no matter how hard I try, I just can’t for the life of me eat enough Potassium, and I have never been able to, long before I was ever a vegan.

My most eaten vegan foods include: Kale, Lentils, Pasta, Tortillas, Peanut Butter, Bananas, Soymilk, Spinach, Romaine Lettuce, Avocado, and Meat Substitutes.

But that is my first week as a vegan, and it went really well, both nutritionally, and deliciously! I will write another one of these in about a month, detailing what I ate and my nutrition from there. This should be getting even better as time goes on, as I also plan on adding more seeds, new recipes, flax, etc.

Leave a Reply

