My Top 10 Favorite Vegan Protein Sources

Vegan Protein is actually on the forefront of my diet as a new vegan, but to be honest, I have been eating vegan proteins long before I became a vegetarian, but many of these that I am listed came into play after I became vegetarian, and a couple after I went full on vegan. So in this post, I am going to mention my favorite vegan protein sources, not just based on Protein, but mainly based on taste. I much prefer good vegan food that tastes good, over vegan foods that are nutritional but taste… awkward. Like most Tofurkey, or Tofu.

1. Boca Vegan Chik Patties

I actually just tried these today, and they are fantastic! They taste only slightly different than the other vegan chik patties that I was used to, the Morningstar brand. Each patty has only 140 Calories, and a whopping 12 grams of protein!

2. Soymilk

25293600393I love the hell out of soymilk, which is funny, because I was scared to try it at first. I thought it was going to be nasty. or that I was going to have an allergic reaction to the soy… I didn’t. I love it even more if you put a small amount of Chocolate syrup in it, which I am glad i found out that Chocolate Syrup is Vegan. Next time I think I am going to try out the Strawberry. Each cup of Soymilk (Silk is my brand, but I buy others as well) has about 8 grams of protein, and only 110 Calories, even less calories if you want to get it Unsweetened.

3. Gardein Vegan Meatballs

I actually just did a review of these, and they are fantastic! I added them in with some angel hair pasta and some marinara. Maybe next time I will add some marinara and add them in with some sub bread, making a Meatless Ball Marinara, possibly also adding some Follow Your Heart vegan cheese on top.  These meatless balls come with only 150 calories per serving, and a whopping 15 grams of Protein!

4. Bagels

I like to eat bagels often, sometimes eat them with peanut butter, or Vegan cream cheese, or the like. I often eat whole wheat, but sometimes I eat blueberry or raisin bagels, they all have a lot of protein in the though. 10 grams and 250 calories per single bagel.

5. Lentils

I did not know how much I loved lentils until I started cooking with them. I started to make Lentil soup, and that was the end of that! I ate vegan soup straight for like, 2 weeks! I also eat them just lentils with some salt and seasoning. I am going to try to make Lentil refried beans to add on some homemade vegan tacos. Regular lentils 230 calories per cup of lentils, plus they have a TON of protein, at about 18 grams per cup! Makes that lentil soup look much more appetizing now

6. Red Beans

Otherwise known as Pinto Beans, these are AWESOME as making some wonderful vegan chili! All I have to do is drain and rinse canned beans, place them in a pot, add a can of crushed tomatoes, some onions, lots of seasoning, and let it boil down. Pinto beans have 200 Calories per up, and 12 grams of protein, which makes me feel better about that chili.

7. Broccoli

huumm-broccoli-cat-cats-kitten-kitty-pic-picture-funny-lolcat-cute-fun-lovely-photo-imagesBroccoli kinda shocked me when I first learned that it was a source of protein. Granted, it does not have a lot, but I can eat a pound of steamed broccoli in a single sitting! Tastes great with a little salt as well. One cup of broccoli has 6 grams of protein, and just 52 Calories.

8. Almonds

Almonds make a pretty good snack when you are out and about, or simply not in the mood to cook. I like to add almonds, cashews, and raisins, and make a kind of trail mix. A serving size of almonds, which is about a shot glass full of almonds, is 172 Calories, and only 6 grams of protein. Not a whole lot for the calories, but it is pretty good.

9. Beyond Chicken

Beyond Chicken is kind of awkward, but not too bad. My main issue is that is is too expensive, but if you saute it up until crispy and dip it in some Barbecue sauce or Sriracha, it is really not bad. Each serving, which is about 6 strips, is 120 Calories, and a whopping 20 grams of protein, which is AWESOME!

 

10. Peanut Butter

Peanut butter is always a staple in a vegan diet, or even most diets. Peanut butter and Banana sandwiches are something that I eat probably way too often, especially if I add a little bit of chocolate syrup into the peanut butter to give it an awesome flavor similar to that of Nutella… just not Nutella. Peanut butter is high in Calories, at 200 per serving, but it does give a whole 8 grams of protein in it!

As a vegan, it is prudent that one watches their protein intake. Not eating enough protein for your bodily needs will most likely make you tired, weaker, and just counteract any beneficial energy you might get from eating vegan. So do make sure you are getting enough protein to suit your needs.

Leave a Reply

